State Authorizations

As an institution that has students residing across the United States, Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) is required to have authorization to operate in a number of states based on the activities it conducts in the states. SNHU is not required to have state authorization in all 50 states. Currently SNHU has the following state authorizations.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Department of Education
333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333

Educational Approval Board
201 W. Washington Ave., 3rd Floor
P. O. Box 8696
Madison, WI 53708 

Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
This institution is authorized by:
The Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
101 W. Ohio St., Suite 670
Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984”

Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
August, ME 04333-0023
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 N. Liberty Street / 10th Floor
Baltimore, MD  21201
SNHU is registered with the Maryland Higher Education Commission

Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55108-5227
Southern New Hampshire University is registered as a private institution with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

Montana University System
Office of Commissioner of Higher Education
2500 Broadway Street
P.O Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301

Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Consumer Protection
160 East 300 South, Box 146704
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704

Vermont Agency of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501

Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050


Some state regulations allow for institutions that meet specific criteria to apply for exemption in lieu of authorization. Based on state standards, SNHU has secured exemption in the following states:

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
PO Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505

State of Colorado
Department of Higher Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, CO  80202

Illinois Board of Higher Education
431 East Adams Street, 2nd Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1404

Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
PO Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005

Commonwealth of Virginia
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 North Fourteenth Street
Richmond, VA 23219